Matthew Reynolds (shown at the 2014 Runoffs) won the Mid-States Conference Majors Championship in E Production.

A Blackjack of Mazda Champions

Mazda drivers claim 21 titles in the three SCCA Majors conferences that have completed their seasons.

Three of SCCA’s five Majors Championship conferences have wrapped up their seasons ahead of next month’s SCCA National Championship Runoffs. The results for Mazda and Mazda-powered racers were good, with 20 drivers claiming 21 conference titles.

Aside from the spec classes – Spec Miata and Formula Mazda – there was a big variety of classes and competition. Mazda drivers won titles in GT, Production, Touring, Super Touring, Formula Atlantic and Prototype classes. Among the conference champions were quite a few defending or past national champions, including current Formula Atlantic National Champion Conner Kearby, who won the class in the Southeastern Conference.

Often the competition is other makes, but in some cases, it’s Mazda vs. Mazda. In the Western Conference, the top three were all Mazda2s, with Eric Boucher coming out on top of Derrick Ambrose and Cherie Storms. Alan Marshall had to contend with Miata racer James Speights to win the Mid-States GT-3 title in his RX-7.

In contrast, Tom Wickersham had a host of Hondas and Mustangs to beat in his MX-5 for the Western Conference Touring 4 title. Marc Hoover probably has the only Touring 1 Miata in the country, and he used it to good effect in the Western Conference, running roughshod over drivers of Ford’s Mustang factory racer, a Corvette and a host of Ferrari Challenge cars.

There were a couple of truly noteworthy performances out of the Mid-States Conference. First was Matthew Reynolds’ double championship in E Production and Spec Miata. In EP, he won every race in his Miata but one, and in Spec Miata, 68 drivers posted results in the conference. The other outstanding effort was Eric Prill, who swept F Production in his Miata, winning every pole and every race in the conference. It’s also worth noting Danny Steyn’s Spec Miata championship in the Southeastern Conference, based on sheer numbers – 134 different drivers posted results in SM in the conference.

Two more conferences have races yet to run, the Northern and Northeastern Conferences. will bring you the results of those championships when they’re wrapped up.

Western Conference Mazda Champions

Class Driver Car
B-Spec Eric Boucher Mazda2
E Production Anthony Jimerson RX-7
Formula Atlantic Edward Lever Pro Mazda
Formula Mazda Michael Ottis Formula Mazda
Prototype 2 David Ferguson Mazda Van Diemen RFS-03
Spec Miata Marco Gallaher Miata
Touring 1 Marc Hoover Miata
Touring 4 Tom Wickersham MX-5

Mid-States Conference Mazda Champions

Class Driver Car
E Production Matthew Reynolds Miata
Formula Mazda Larry Howard Formula Mazda
F Production Eric Prill Miata
GT-3 Alan Marshall RX-7
GTL Jonathan Goodale MX-5
Spec Miata Matthew Reynolds Miata

Southeastern Conference Mazda Champions

Class Driver Car
Formula Atlantic Conner Kearby Swift 016 Mazda
Formula Mazda Doug Peterson Formula Mazda
F Production Ken Kannard Miata
GT-3 Ray Stephenson RX-7
Prototype 1 Jacek Mucha JMS016CP Mazda
Spec Miata Danny Steyn Miata
STL Nick Leverone Miata