Southern Conference Crowns Champions

Eleven Mazda drivers among those who collected the most points in Southern Conference of the SCCA U.S. Majors Tour for 2017

While some parts of the country are just getting into their seasons, in others the SCCA U.S. Majors Tour season has wrapped. SCCA’s Southern Conference completed its Majors series with a Memorial Day weekend race at Texas World Speedway in College Station, Texas. At the race’s conclusion, 11 Mazda drivers could claim the title of Conference champion.

That includes, of course, the drivers in the spec Mazda classes. Chris Haldeman scored the Spec Miata title with an impressive five wins in 10 starts, and was on the podium every single race – an impressive performance in a tough class. Jarret Voorhies had four wins and two second-place finishes to top the points in Formula Mazda, and Paul Schneider had the highest points total in Formula Enterprises.

One of the most popular and competitive in the Southern Conference is Super Touring Lite, and in that part of the country it’s dominated by Mazdas. John “Billy Bob” Roberts of Grapevine, Texas, didn’t win the most races, but a couple of victories and a lot of podium finishes in his 2006 MX-5 left him standing atop the class.

“I’m extremely pleased to win the Southern Conference Championship – it was tough going with the competition out here,” says Roberts, who adds, “I would attribute Mazda’s dominance to the factory and the aftermarket’s involvement in this sector of motorsports and, of course, the manufacturing of such fun to race cars.”

Luis Rivera dominated Super Touring Under in his Miata, scoring seven wins and one second in eight starts. Matthew Reynolds turned in an even more masterful performance in E Production, winning every single race he entered in his Miata. Reynolds also finished fourth in the Spec Miata standings. Kyle Baker drove a Miata to four victories in F Production to claim the most points in that class.

The Pro Formula Mazda took the top four spots in Formula Atlantic, with David Zavelson taking five wins in eight starts to claim the Conference championship. L. Huston won five Majors races in his NC MX-5 to take the Touring 4 title. Other top points earners were Bill McGavic in GT-3 (RX-7) and Jonathan Goodale in GT-Lite (MX-5).

The next Conference to wrap up its season will be the Western Conference, which has its final event on June 17-18 at The Ridge Motorsports Park in Washington.

SCCA Majors Tour 2017 Southern Conference Champions
Class, Driver, Car
E Production, Matthew Reynolds, Miata
F Production, Kyle Baker, Miata
GT-3, Bill McGavic, RX-7
GTL, Jonathan Goodale, MX-5
Formula Atlantic, David Zavelson, Pro Formula Mazda
Formula Enterprise, Paul Schneider, Van Diemen FE/Mazda
Formula Mazda, Jarret Voorhies, Star Formula Mazda
Spec Miata, Chris Haldeman, Miata
Super Touring Lite, John Roberts, MX-5
Super Touring Under, Luis Rivera, Miata
Touring 4, L. Huston, MX-5