Mazda Competitors Take 2015 SCCA Awards

Saturday night’s SCCA Hall of Fame and Awards banquet inducted five new members as well as honored current SCCA participants for their 2015 achievements and contributions. Mazda competitors, once again, took home multiple awards; Mazda commends them.

The Club Racing Presidents’ Cup went to Jonathan Goring.  He captured the Spec Miata National Championship under the lights at Daytona International Speedway amidst rapidly drying track conditions. Goring ran the race on Hoosier slicks, keeping in the hunt while those on rains had the advantage for most of the race. In the closing laps, when the track dried enough to change the advantage to those on slicks, Goring made his moves, taking the lead on the final lap and winning by 1.794-second in the No. 118 Alfas Unlimited/Dixon/Rossini Mazda Miata.

During his acceptance speech Saturday night, Goring, a class act, paid homage to the SCCA and commented on his dream to run at Daytona under the lights. “I just want to give a big thank you, obviously, to the SCCA,” Goring said after Roger Penske, one of the Hall of Fame inductees, presented him with the award.  “This is just such a big honor.” Goring went on to discuss his pursuit of racing in IMSA to give him the opportunity to run Daytona at night. Mazda sponsored the SCCA to enable it turning on the lights, giving Goring and others this opportunity. The Spec Miata competitors took advantage of the opportunity, putting on a clinic, making it a truly sensational Friday night race – one for the ages.

Mazda competitor Tamra Hunt took the Solo Rookie of the Year award. In her first trip to the Tire Rack Solo National Championships, Hunt walked away as the National Champion in C Street Prepared Ladies. After all runs had been completed, Hunt finished more than three seconds ahead of a pack that included three previous National Champions.

Carol Kolk was named 2015 Solo Driver of the Year.  She won her first National Championship in 2007, and earned another National Championship this year by 0.591-second in E Street Prepared Ladies.

“This is overwhelming and amazing and I just can’t believe it,” Kolk said.

The Member of Excellence Award was presented to Paula Hawthorne.  This award is given to an SCCA member who provided a great contribution to the Club during the previous 12 months.

The Woolf Barnato Award went to Jerry Wannarka.  This is the SCCA’s highest award and is presented to a member who has made an outstanding, long-term contribution to the Club.

The John McGill Award was earned in by Terry Ozment.  This honor is presented for significant contribution to the Club Racing Program. The winner is chosen by the Club Racing Board and the Vice President of Club Racing.

And finally, the RallyCross Dirty Cup was awarded to Bob Ricker. This accolade is presented by the RallyCross Board in recognition of an individual’s extraordinary contribution to the sport of SCCA RallyCross over time.