Tamra Hunt: 2015 SOLO Rookie of the Year

Mazda congratulates Tamra Hunt, of Shelton, Connecticut, for being announced as the Sports Car Club of America 2015 Solo Rookie of the Year. 

She will officially be presented with the award during the SCCA Convention at the South Point Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Jan. 21-23.

In her first trip to the Tire Rack Solo National Championships, Hunt walked away as the National Champion in C Street Prepared Ladies. After all runs had been completed, Hunt finished more than three seconds ahead of a pack that included three previous National Champions.

Even more impressively, 2015 was just Hunt’s second season of autocrossing. She spent 2014 running strictly regional events, but stepped up into National competition in 2015. In the six national-level SCCA Solo events she entered, Hunt not only trophied during each event but never finished lower than third place. She finished the ProSolo season second in the L3 class season-long standings.

Hunt was recognized at the driver who showed outstanding performance at their first Tire Rack Solo National Championships, with limited competition experience. Previous winners include Mark Daddio, Mike Maier, Bryan Heitkotter, Andrew Pallotta, Darren Seltzer and 2014 winner Mark Scroggs, all National Championship contenders each and every year at the Tire Rack Solo Nationals presented by Garmin VIRB.

Tamra Hunt ROY
Hunt took a commanding win in CSPL at the 2015 Tire Rack Solo Nationals presented by Garmin VIRB, earning her Rookie of the Year honors.

The SCCA Hall of Fame and Awards Banquet is scheduled for 7:00 p.m., on Saturday Jan. 23. Tickets for the convention and banquet are still available. Visit SCCA.com/Convention for further details on the event, including a schedule and links to registration.