Finalists for Mazda Road to 24 Shootout Revealed

Six drivers to compete for scholarship for Mazda MX-5 Cup season

IRVINE, Calif. (November 18, 2019) – Six drivers have been selected to take part in the 2019 Mazda Road to 24 Shootout.

Scheduled for December 3-4 at the Michelin Laurens Proving Grounds in Mountville, South Carolina, the Road to 24 Shootout will award the winner a $100,000 scholarship to compete in the 2020 Idemitsu Mazda MX-5 Cup presented by BFGoodrich® Tires. The winning driver will carry Mazda’s Soul Red Crystal on their MX-5 Cup car throughout the 2020 season.

The 2020 Mazda MX-5 Cup season begins with a series test on March 2 at Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Alabama before the first race of the season on April 3-5 at Barber.

2019 Mazda Road to 24 Shootout Finalists

Tray Ayres, Gainsville, GA
2019 SCCA Prototype 2 National Champion

Brandon Collins, River Forest, IL
Autobahn Country Club Spec Miata

Matthew Dirks, Johnston, CO
NASA Teen Mazda Challenge

Aaron Jeansonne, Sulphur, LA
Team USA Scholarship Alumni

Stuart McAleer, Monticello, NY
Monticello Motor Club Spec Miata

Jared Thomas, North Vernon, IL
NASA/SCCA Spec Miata, Mini 500 winner