Mazda Motorsports Announces Drivers Eligible for Mazda Road to 24 Shootout

Drivers from numerous grassroots disciplines invited to compete for chance at Mazda MX-5 Cup season

IRVINE, Calif. (October 31, 2019) –Mazda Motorsports has unveiled the list of drivers nominated for the 2019 Mazda Road to 24 Shootout.

The Shootout, scheduled for December 3-4 at the Michelin Laurens Proving Grounds in Mountville, South Carolina, will award the winner with a $100,000 scholarship to compete in the 2020 Idemitsu Mazda MX-5 Cup presented by BFGoodrich® Tires. The winner’s car will carry the Mazda’s Soul Red Crystal on their MX-5 Cup car throughout the 2020 season.

Winning a club racing championship while driving a Mazda or Mazda-powered car is the primary way to be nominated for the Mazda Road to 24 Shootout, while At-Large nominees are also considered. Nominated drivers will submit a written and video proposal from which the finalists will be selected for the one-day Shootout.

The 2018 Mazda Road to 24 Shootout winner, Michael Carter, captured the Mazda MX-5 Cup Rookie of the Year championship and finished a strong fourth in the overall championship.

Nominees for 2019 Mazda Road to 24 Shootout

Tray Ayres SCCA Prototype 2 National Champion
Rhett Barkau SCCA Formula Enterprises 2 National Champion
Todd Buras SCCA Spec Miata National Champion
Justin Casey NASA Spec Miata (At-Large)
Brandon Colllins Autobahn Spec Miata (At-Large)
Bryce Cornet 2018 SCCA FM National Champion (At-Large)
Konrad Czaczyk SCCA Spec Miata (At-Large)
Jeff Dernehl SCCA GT3 National Champion
Matthew Dirks NASA Teen Mazda Challenge (At-Large)
Jim Drago NASA Spec Miata National Champion
Roy Fulmer IV NASA Northern California Teen Mazda Challenge
Hannah Grisham NASA Southern California Teen Mazda Challenge
Alex Hainer Porsche Owners Club (At-Large)
John Hainsworth SCCA E-Production (At-Large)
Aaron Jeansonne Team USA Scholarship (At-Large)
Flinn Lazier SCCA Formula Enterprises (At-Large)
Savannah Little NASA Spec Miata, Global Time Attack (At-Large)
Preston Pardus SCCA Spec Miata (At-Large)
Karla Pestotnik NASA Western Endurance Racing Championship (At-Large)
Jason Pettit Formula Car Challenge Formula S Champion
Eric Prill SCCA F Production National Champion
John Purcell Formula Car Challenge Pro Formula Mazda Champion
Tyler Quance NASA / SCCA Spec Miata (At-Large)
Matt Reynolds SCCA E-Production (At-Large)
Alex Scaler F1600 (At-Large)
Todd Slusher SCCA Prototype 1 National Champion
Danny Steyn SCCA Super Touring Lite National Champion
Jared Thomas NASA / SCCA Spec Miata, Mini 500 winner (At-Large)
Bill Weaver Formula Car Challenge – Formula Mazda Champion