Eight Mazda SCCA Super Tour Champions

Six Hoosier Super Tour events plus the Runoffs decided the SCCA points champions, with eight Mazda drivers earning titles

With the SCCA National Championship Runoffs being the last opportunity to earn points toward the Hoosier Super Tour point championships, those champions have now been determined, and among them are eight Mazda drivers. Drivers earned points by competing in Hoosier Super Tour events across the country – 22 at 11 tracks – counting their best six finishes plus the 54th Runoffs at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

SCCA Hoosier Super Tour events were held at Sebring International Raceway, NOLA Motorsports Park, Willow Springs Raceway, Circuit of the Americas, Hallett Motor Racing Circuit, VIRginia International Raceway, Buttonwillow Raceway Park, Portland International Raceway, Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Road America and Watkins Glen International.

A couple of class point champions were decided prior to the Runoffs. After the record-breaking SCCA National Championship at IMS, several classes were decided by just a handful of points – the margin of victory in Formula Atlantic was only four points, the spread in Spec Miata was three points and the difference between the champion and runner-up in Formula Mazda came down to a single point.

Among the Mazda spec classes, it’s no surprise that Elliot Finlayson won Mazda Formula Enterprises after dominating the season and the Runoffs. Brad Yake missed out on a National Championship at Indy but earned the Super Tour title in Formula Mazda. And Jim Drago, a former Spec Miata national champ, struggled a bit at the Runoffs but finished well enough to seal the Super Tour championship.

Spencer Brockman was the champion of the hard-fought Formula Atlantic title, driving his Mazda-powered Swift 014 to a third-place finish at the Runoffs to seal it. Don Knowles dominated Touring 4 in the Southeast in his RX-8 to win the Super Tour points chase.

Four Miata drivers won Super Tour championships across a variety of classes. That includes E Production for Matt Reynolds and F Production for Ken Kannard. Michael Kamalian, a favorite in GT-Lite at the Runoffs, scored a top-five finish at Indy to hold the points lead. Finally, Luis Rivera drove his Miata to the Super Touring Under championship.

SCCA Hoosier Super Tour
Mazda Points Champions
Class: Driver; Hometown; Car
E Production: Matt Reynolds; Fair Oaks, Texas; Mazda Miata
F Production: Ken Kannard; East Troy, Wis.; Mazda Miata
Formula Atlantic: Spencer Brockman; Westport, Ct.; Swift 014 Mazda
Formula Enterprise: Elliot Finlayson; Yorkville, Ill.; Mazda Formula Enterprises
Formula Mazda: Brad Yake; Fort Worth, Texas; Star Formula Mazda
GT-Lite: Michael Kamalian; Marietta, Ga.; Mazda Miata
Spec Miata: Jim Drago; Memphis, Tenn.; Mazda Miata
Super Touring Under: Luis Rivera; Angleton, Texas; Mazda Miata
Touring 4: Don Knowles; Pittsboro, N.C.; Mazda RX-8