Who will be the next MRT24 Scholarship Winner?

On November 15-16 some of the most talented grassroots Mazda racers will take part in the 2016 Mazda Road to 24 Shootout.  (To play the never-before-seen video from last year’s shootout, click here.)

This two-day shootout, to be held at the NOLA Motorsports Park, will determine the winner of the $100,000 Mazda Motorsports Scholarship to compete in the 2017 Idemitsu Mazda MX-5 Cup presented by BFGoodrich® Tires.

Currently, there are 24 nominees. These nominees were selected from the ranks of the SCCA (club racing and autocross), NASA, Teen Mazda Challenge, and iRacing. From here, fewer than 10 will compete as the finalists at NOLA. Those finalists will be announced on October 28 on www.MazdaMotorsports.com.

The 24 MRT24 Finalists:

1)    Joshua Allen, LaVerne, California – NASA West PTC Champion
2)    Michael Carter, Savannah, Georgia – At Large Nominee – SCCA Spec Miata
3)    Matt Cresci, Los Gatos, California – At Large Nominee – NASA Spec Miata
4)    Dillon Dexter, Central City, Nebraska – NASA East PTD Champion
5)    Warren Dexter, Central City, Nebraska – NASA East PTE Champion
6)    Julian Garfield, Mount Airy, Maryland – At Large Nominee – SCCA SOLO
7)    Charlie Hayes, Walnut Creek, California – NASA West PTD Champion
8)    Justin Hille, Ypsilanti, Michigan – SCCA Runoffs Spec Miata Champion
9)    Dan Howard, Columbus, Ohio – NASA West PTE Champion
10)    Tyler Kicera, Mount Gretna, Pennsylvania – NASA East Spec Miata Champion
11)    Ryan Kowalewski, Indianapolis, Indiana – At Large Nominee – SCCA T4
12)    Daniel Langon, Alamo, California – Teen Mazda Challenge Western Region Champion
13)    Brian Lock, Santa Cruz, California – NASA West NP01 Champion
14)    Ethan Loree, Albuquerque, New Mexico – Teen Mazda Challenge Rocky Mountain Champion
15)    Matthew Machiko, Wexford, Pennsylvania – SCCA Runoffs Formula Mazda Champion
16)    Ryan Norman, Aurora, Ohio, SCCA Runoffs Formula Atlantic Champion
17)    Max Nufer, Wildwood, Missouri – At Large Nominee – SCCA Spec Miata
18)    Matt Reynolds, Boerne, Texas – SCCA Runoffs E Production Champion
19)    Matt Rivard, Kansas City, Missouri – NASA East NP01 Champion
20)    Nick Sommers, Nevada City, California – NASA West Spec Miata Champion
21)    Deriann Taylor, New Braunfels, Texas –  Teen Mazda Challenge Texas Region Champion
22)    Jon Van Caneghem, Marina Del Rey, California – NASA West Super Unlimited Champion
23)    Stacy Wilson, Englewood, Tennessee – SCCA Runoffs GT3 Champion
24)    TBD – iRacing Mazda MX-5 Combine Cup Champion