Northern Conference SM champ Justin Hille leads the field at Road America.

Ten Mazda Champs in Northern /Northeast

The last two conferences to wrap up their SCCA Majors Tour events crown a slew of Mazda titlists.

The SCCA Majors Tour has wrapped up, with the Northern Conference and Northeastern Conference finishing their seasons. We already brought you the report on the other three conferences, so it’s time to recognize the champions from the remaining conferences.

Both conferences feature five Mazda champions, including the spec classes of Spec Miata and Formula Mazda. The only common denominator in the open classes was F Production, where Miata drivers claimed the title in both Conferences – Michael Froh in Northern and Charlie Campbell in the Northeast.

In Northern Conference Street Touring Lite, Mazdas were heavy in the top 10, with six Miata drivers occupying that space. However, it was an RX-7 driver that came out on top. Richard Walke won at Blackhawk Farms, twice at Road America and never finished lower than fourth to take the title over David Palfenier (Miata) and Breton Williams (RX-7).

The NC MX-5 is a popular choice in Touring 4, where cars are nearly as they roll off the showroom floor, and two MX-5 pilots fought it out for Touring 4 honors in the Northern Conference. In their head-to-head meetings, James Ebben usually came out ahead of Voytek Burdzy; but Burdzy was able to drop two of those finishes to get down to the best eight and come out on top. Burdzy had four wins and four seconds for the season, while Ebben had two wins, two seconds and one third-place finish.

Most GT-3 competitors looking to run a Mazda choose the RX-7. But Christopher Howard went with a Miata body and claimed the championship in the Northeastern Conference over RX-7 driver James Ashe.

One-hundred-and-eleven drivers contested a Spec Miata race in the Northeastern Conference, and it’s usually hugely competitive. So it’s a surprise that Tyler Kicera won the conference points by such a large margin, 178 points to Nick Leverone’s 111.

Northern Conference Mazda Champions

Class Driver Car
Formula Mazda Joseph Burton-Harris Star Mazda
F Production Michael Froh Miata
Spec Miata Justin Hille Miata
STL Richard Walke RX-7
T4 Voytek Burdzy MX-5

Northeast Conference Mazda Champions

Class Driver Car
FA Garth Rickards Swift 016/Mazda
FM Robert Noell Star Mazda
FP Charlie Campbell Miata
GT-3 Christopher Howard Miata
Spec Miata Tyler Kicera Miata