Summer of Solo

Mazda drivers take victories in a variety of SCCA Solo events across the country in the early months of summer.

As the weather heats up, so does the SCCA national Solo season. With three different types of events touring the country, there is something for everyone who enjoys blasting through the cones. The Championship Tour is conducted much like the Solo National Championship, with three runs on two courses over two days, with the best times on each course added together to determine winners. Match Tour events are like three events in one, with two Saturday sessions consisting of traditional three-run autocrosses, like a mini Championship Tour. Then a third session on Saturday morning determines the qualifiers for the Super, Club and Bonus shootouts, which are conducted head to head. ProSolo events are conducted on mirror courses with a Christmas tree start. Fast times on the two courses determine class winners, then the top overall contenders go head-to-head in the shootouts, with the starts playing a pivotal role.

Naturally, Mazda drivers fare well in autocross, with drivers taking wins in every event in everything from all generations of MX-5, RX-7s, RX-8s and even a 323.

At the Lincon Championship Tour in late May, Bob Bundy (949 Racing/MAZDASPEED Mazda Miata), of Anacortes, Wash., took home a narrow victory in Super Street Modified. Bundy progressively worked his way down to setting the fastest lap of the day in the class. On the second day, Bundy did not capture the best time, but had built enough of a gap to take the win over Randall Wilcox by 0.178-second.

At the Devens Airfield Championship Tour in Massachusetts in June, fierce competition was the name of the game. There was no better representation of that than in the Street Touring R class. Joseph Ottofaro ( Racing Mazda MX-5), of Merrick, New York, was the class leader following the first day of competition. On Sunday William Koscielny threatened Ottofaro’s lead by setting the fastest lap on the course, but ended up 0.039-second short.

The winner of C Street took home the title with an identical margin of victory. Brent Vander Werf (Mazda MX-5), of Lowell, Massachusetts, went into the overnight break in second, a whole second off the pace of then leader Brian Doherty (Mazda Motorsports Mazda RX-8). On his final run, Werf hit a homerun. He completed that run just over one second faster than Doherty. When the final tabulations were made, the win went to Werf by 0.039-second.

In X Prepared at the Championship Tour in Packwood, Wash., last weekend, Andy McKee, of Livermore, California, took home the class win at the controls of his Mike Maier, Inc./Ankeny Racing Mazda RX-7. McKee had the chance to be the class of the field on Saturday, but three runs in which he took out a cone meant he would need to rest on the least dirty of those runs. On Sunday, McKee made up for Saturday’s miscues. As the only car in the 49-second timeframe, McKee showed why he deserved the class title. That lap cleared the time of his next closest competitor, Kyriacos Panayiotou, by more than 1.5 seconds resulting in a 0.237-second margin of victory.

Mazda Winners at Summer Solo Events

Event Class Driver Car
Colorado Champ Tour STR Jodi Fordahl MX-5
Colorado Champ Tour XP Mark Mauro Jr. RX-7
Massachusetts Champ Tour C Street Brent Vander Werf MX-5
Massachusetts Champ Tour E Street Ed Lange Miata
Massachusetts Champ Tour STFWD Daniel Gross Mazda3
Massachusetts Champ Tour STS Ben Wagstaff Miata
Massachusetts Champ Tour STR Joseph Ottofaro MX-5
Massachusetts Champ Tour STR Ladies Tamra Hunt Miata
Massachusetts Champ Tour CSP Billy Davis Miata
Washington Champ Tour C Street Ladies Rachel Kerswill RX-8
Washington Champ Tour E Street Rich Blake Miata
Washington Champ Tour STS Eric Stoltz Miata
Washington Champ Tour CSP Brian Hemming Miata
Washington Champ Tour XP Andy McKee RX-7
Washington Champ Tour DP Ron Bauer MX-5
Washington Champ Tour SMFWD Adam McCausland 323
Georgia Match Tour C Street Jason Stroud RX-8
Georgia Match Tour C Street Ladies Laraine Wilkinson MX-5
Georgia Match Tour STS Justin Harbour Miata
Georgia Match Tour FSP Justin Barbry 323
Utah Match Tour E Street Kent Jolley Mazdaspeed Miata
Utah Match Tour STS Eric Stoltz Miata
Utah Match Tour DP Skyler Sisson Miata
Mineral Wells ProSolo SSM Erik Strelnieks RX-7
Mineral Wells ProSolo Race Tire Index 2 Zachary Sober RX-7
Toledo ProSolo C Street Chris Harvey MX-5
Toledo ProSolo STFWD Bob Day Mazda3
Toledo ProSolo STR Alex Kang MX-5
Toledo ProSolo CSP Billy Davis Miata
Toledo ProSolo SSM Randall WIlcox Miata
Toledo ProSolo Ladies 3 Tamra Hunt Miata