Freedom Autosport Wins at Lime Rock

Joel Miller and Tristan Nunez pulled double duty in Grand-Am competition at Lime Rock, racing not only in the Rolex Sports Car Series GX class in the Mazda6 SKYACTIV-D Clean Diesel, but also running an MX-5 in the Continental Tire Sports Car Series race on Friday afternoon. Miller and Nunez won the Street Tuner class. It was Miller’s second start and first victory; Nunez won in his first Continental Tire ST outing.

It was the third win for Freedom Autosport in 2013 (they also won at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca and Barber Motorsports Park), and sixth win for Mazda in 11 races. Freedom Autosport drivers Rhett O’Doski and Andrew Carbonell, winners at Mazda Raceway, finished tied for fifth in the point standings.

CJ Wilson Racing won two races (Circuit of the Americas and Watkins Glen) and i-Moto Racing’s MAZDASPEED3 won at Kansas Speedway.

CJ Wilson’s Stevan McAleer, the 2012 Playboy Mazda MX-5 Cup champion, won the Rookie of the Year title for the series.